top of page

How I began Off The Ball- Part One

I thought I would make this blog post on how I created off the ball, as I have had a few questions and DMs about how I created OffTheBall and how you can do the same .

Firstly, you are going to need something to write about - some content, themes etc. I recommend looking at other blogs - the athletic is a good first option as well as the guardian womens football.

I started looking at these blogs and how they formed the writings.


For content for the blogs I looked originally at matches I had attended.

Then I began looking at other people's opinions and transfer rumors.

Writing the blogs takes me 10-15 minuets for short blogs- although the much longer and in depth ones can take up to a couple of days. I always like to fact check the blog as well to make sure I have got everything correct.

There are loads of great sites / books to check your facts and research. The book(s) I mainly use are 'A woman's game' by Suzanne Wrack (who also rights for the guardian in womens football too' and 'Her Game Too: A manifesto for change' written by Matt Riley for the organization Her Game too, which you can find out more about here .

Some great websites inc The guardian womens football, The athletic and (if you are an arsenal fan!) I highly recommend the Arseblog which can he found here . I am sure other clubs have the same type of blog service too!



Building a website

For my blog I created the website using Wix site, and I know that there are plenty of other websites you can use too.

If you are interested in writing an article or a few without having to set up a website I recommend you send it in too Womens Football (allthingswomensfootball.org)



Another thing I would recommend is to just have a look around our website! (Genuinely !)



I am going to be making more parts to this series where I break it down in more detail but hopefully this is a nice introduction / brief explanation.

Comentarios


bottom of page